My first lefty deba advice

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
So first off, if you are righty, you need to know that if a left handed person wants a single bevel Japanese knife, it almost always a 50% upcharge to the price of the knife. So please consider that with your advice.

Okay here’s my deal-
I am a left handed hibachi chef and knife collector. I do a little bit of sushi work, but I’m not breaking down whole tuna, we order in big pieces of salmon and tuna etc that a portion with a Yanagiba (shiro 3 Kikuchiyo 270mm).

I want a deba for HOME use, and learn how to break down mid sized fish I can buy whole from my local oriental market or the fish market down at the strip district here in the city of Pittsburgh.

So my question is first.

What size for home use would u guys recommend- I’m thinking 150-165 range?

What brand has the highest quality at a decent price point? I have a pretty expansive knife collection, some honyaki, Kato, Shigs, a bunch of Mitsuaki Takada finished knives etc… I’m a collector but I use all of them and am a professional chef. I want something decent but affordable…

Lastly, should I go for Miroshi or standard? I really don’t have a clear answer on why one is more advantageous over the other.

Thanks for your help.
Southpaw

What size for home use would u guys recommend- I’m thinking 150-165 range?