The Wyoming Stone

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I was reading through the JNat thread and just for grins I Googled Wyoming Sharpening stone. To My surprise there is a Wyoming Stone. it is nephrite jade. There is at least one source of them Wild Whetstones. I know nothing about them. I do know this is something that would have been around the neck, or in the "possibles" bag of a early 19th Century Mountain Man in my part of the world. Does anyone know about them?

1712773009831.png

1712773076766.png

Have a bench stone, an axe puck and an extra large version of those Viking stones from them for a few years.

The salesman in me wants to tell you they’re the greatest thing on earth like their videos will make you think so I can sell you mine at a large discount for a set. Luckily, I’m an engineer and the idea of being a salesperson makes my introverted soul wither.

The good, they are very, very pretty stones. They’d be fine sitting on a desk for display. The claims about them not dishing is definitely true. Any form of removal on these things is a bear, god help you if you need to flatten them without power tools like I tried to do with float glass and silicon carbide grit.

The bad: Craftsmanship is hit or miss. The Viking stone has a side that wasn’t fully flattened. The bench stone was left with the same finish on both sides versus the combo finish they always recommend to “let you do anything”.